Doldrums

I have recently finished graduate school, and as a 42 year old male with the mind of someone in their mid twenties, it is time to pick up some new activities to occupy the void created by ditching the text books for good.  When my evenings were once occupied with reading, writing and posting on collaborative sites, they are now very quiet and unproductive.  Often times I go hours without saying a word.

Since graduating about a month ago, I seem to have been in some sort of honeymoon like state of mind where I simply enjoyed not doing anything for hours on end.  Well, the honeymoon is over baby and I need to get back to doing the things that I enjoy and address that creative itch.  It is now time to write more even though I am not the most eloquent writer.  Having been a career military officer, I tout myself as being a master of saying a lot with very little.  It is time to get out with my camera, which cost me several times more than my first car.  Play golf, mountain bike, hike, draw, camp, visit museums and the list goes on….

One potential “project” that I would like to do is write a story that goes on for some length.  If I bound it, I would call it a book.  If I drew a few stick figures in it, then a graphic novel.  Nonetheless, I have a story idea and I would like to tell it.  If I were to tell you that the idea came to me in a dream, it would not be entirely a lie.  I don’t quite remember the exact content of the dream, but the name of the character and his image have stuck with me while the story has continued to develop over the last few years.

 So maybe, just maybe, I will use this as a place to post some snippets while I continue to formulate a way to tell the story of Nello Calabash!

Leave a comment